Skip to main content

By the Numbers: 2015 Year in Review

 Take a closer look at the 2015 year in reviewin this edition of By The Numbers


UFC events in 2015


PPV events


FOX and FOX Sports 1 events combined


UFC Fight Pass events


New countries were added to the Octagon’s passport - Philippines, Poland, Scotland and South Korea








Percentage of the 244 finishes in 2015 occurred in the first round (126)


Title fights (including the interim UFC featherweight title fight between Conor McGregor and Chad Mendes at UFC 189)


Finishes across those title fights - 11 KO/TKOs and 4 subs


New UFC champions were crowned this year - Daniel Cormier, Rafael dos Anjos, Holly Holm, Joanna Jedrzejczyk, Conor McGregor, Luke Rockhold and Fabricio Werdum


Seconds it took for “The Notorious” Conor McGregor to score a KO of Jose Aldo at UFC 194 to unify the UFC featherweight championship, fastest finish in a UFC title fight


Time into the bout when UFC flyweight champion Demetrious Johnson armbarred Kyoji Horiguchi at UFC 186, latest finish in UFC history


Seconds it took for Leon Edwards to score a KO of Seth Baczynski at UFC Fight Night: Gonzaga vs. Cro Cop 2 and for Makwan Amirkhani to score a KO of Andy Ogle at UFC on FOX: Gustafsson vs. Johnson, tied for fastest KO/TKO in 2015


Seconds it took for the UFC women’s bantamweight champion Ronda Rousey to armbar Cat Zingano at UFC 184, fastest submission win in 2015


People were in attendance at UFC 193 in Melbourne, Australia when Holly Holm scored a second round headkick KO of Ronda Rousey to claim the UFC women’s bantamweight belt, largest event in UFC history


Finishes across 12 bouts at UFC Night Night: Boetsch vs. Henderson, most finishes at a UFC event in 2015


KO/TKOs at UFC 185 and UFC Fight Night: Boetsch vs. Henderson (including six in a row), tied for most KO/TKOs at a UFC event in 2015


Submission stoppages at UFC Fight Night: Namajunas vs. VanZant, most sub wins at a UFC event in 2015


Split-decisions at UFC Fight Night: Henderson vs. Masvidal, most split-decisions at a UFC event in 2015


Draws occurred in 2015 - the Road to UFC: Japan final between Mizuto Hirota and Teruto Ishihara at UFC Fight Night: Barnett vs. Nelson, and the Fight of the Night battle between Darren Till and Nicolas Dalby at UFC Fight Night: Holohan vs. Smolka


The Ultimate Fighter seasons in 2015 - American Top Team vs. Blackzilians, Team McGregor vs. Team Faber, Brazil 4, Latin America 2 and Road to UFC: Japan


Consecutive nights of live UFC events on December 10th, 11th and 12th with UFC Fight Night: Namajunas vs. VanZant, UFC Fight Night: Edgar vs. Mendes and UFC 194


Days between Jose Aldo’s first career loss on November 26th, 2005 and his second career loss on December 12th, 2015 to McGregor at UFC 194


Days longer than Aldo’s teammate former UFC bantamweight champion Renan Barao’s unbeaten streak which ended at UFC 173 last year to current champ T.J. Dillashaw


Days between Carlos Condit’s torn ACL at UFC 171 and his returning second round TKO of Thiago Alves at UFC Fight Night: Condit vs. Alves in May, which earned him a shot at current UFC welterweight champ Robbie Lawler at UFC 195


Underdog wins at UFC on FOX: dos Anjos vs. Cerrone, most in 2015


Fight Night bonuses won by Tony “El Cucuy” Ferguson in 2015 (3 POTN, FOTN), most of any UFC fighter in 2015


Fight Night bonuses each won by Thomas Almeida, Daniel Cormier, Neil Magny, Conor McGregor and Ronda Rousey in 2015


Wins by Neil Magny and Max Holloway inside the Octagon this year, tied for most wins in 2015 and following a 2014 where Magny earned 5 wins (tied UFC record) and Holloway earned 4 wins


Days between Donald “Cowboy” Cerrone’s unanimous decision win over Myles Jury at UFC 182 and his unanimous decision win over Benson Henderson at UFC Fight Night: McGregor vs. Siver, fastest winning turnaround in UFC history


Seconds it took combined for Frank Mir to score a first round KO of Antonio Silva and Todd Duffee, which both earned him Performance of the Night awards earlier this year


Times each Joanna Jedrzejczyk, Demetrious Johnson and Ronda Rousey successfully defended their respective UFC belts in 2015, most in 2015 (Rousey would later lose title to Holm at UFC 193)


Seconds it took for John Lineker to secure a guillotine choke on Francisco Rivera in the shortest and, maybe, wildest Fight of the Night bonus winner of 2015


Years since Tamdan McCrory had fought inside the Octagon since his split-loss to John Howard at UFC 101 and, most recent, his triangle choke of Josh Samman at UFC on FOX: dos Anjos vs. Cerrone


Years almost to the very day did Mirko “Cro Cop” Filipovic get some revenge by scoring a third round KO/TKO of Gabriel Gonzaga following their first meeting at UFC 70 where Gonzaga landed maybe the most famous headkick KO in UFC history against Filipovic